Know Your Rep


District 1        Julie Slama, Peru

District 2        Robert Clements, Elmwood

District 3        Carol Blood, Bellevue

District 4        Robert Hilkemann, Omaha

District 5        Mike McDonnell, Omaha

District 6        Machaela Cavanaugh, Omaha

District 7        Tony Vargas, Omaha

District 8        Megan Hunt, Omaha

District 9        Sara Howard, Omaha

District 10      Wendy DeBoer, Bennington

District 11      Ernie Chambers, Omaha

District 12      Steve Lathrop, Omaha

District 13      Justin T. Wayne, Omaha

District 14      John Arch, La Vista

District 15      Lynne Walz, Fremont

District 16      Ben Hansen, Blair

District 17      Joni Albrecht, Thurston

District 18      Brett Lindstrom, Omaha

District 19      Jim Scheer, Norfolk

District 20      John S. McCollister, Omaha

District 21      Mike Hilgers, Lincoln

District 22      Mike Moser, Columbus

District 23      Bruce Bostelman, Brainard

District 24      Mark Kolterman, Seward

District 25      Suzanne Geist, Lincoln

District 26      Matt Hansen, Lincoln

District 27      Anna Wishart, Lincoln

District 28      Patty Pansing Brooks, Lincoln

District 29      Kate Bolz, Lincoln

District 30      Myron Dorn, Adams

District 31      Rick Kolowski, Omaha

District 32      Tom Brandt, Plymough

District 33      Steve Halloran, Hastings

District 34      Curt Friesen, Henderson

District 35      Dan Quick, Grand Island

District 36      Matt Williams, Gothenburg

District 37      John S. Lowe, Sr., Kearney

District 38      Dave Murman, Glenvil

District 39      Lou Ann Linehan, Elkhorn

District 40      Tim Gragert, Creighton

District 41      Tom Briese, Albion

District 42      Mike Groene, North Platte

District 43      Tom Brewer, Gordon

District 44      Dan Hughes, Venango

District 45      Sue Crawford, Bellevue

District 46      Adam Morfeld, Lincoln

District 47      Steve Erdman, Bayard

District 48      John P. Stinner, Gering

District 49      Andrew La Grone, Gretna


Nebraska’s annual state legislative process begins with new bill introductions, which runs through the first ten days of the session, and then moves to the various committees of the Legislature.  Public hearings begin soon thereafter and typically take place through mid to late March.

In addition, committees hold hearings on interim studies.  These typically run from August through November.

It is important that your voice is heard as these committees consider the hundreds of bills that are introduced each year.  Senators need to know how proposals will affect you as a business.



Chair – Steve Halloran

Members – Tom Brandt (Vice Chair), Carol Blood, Ernie Chambers, Ben Hansen, Steve Lathrop, Mike Moser, Julie Slama


Chair – John P. Stinner

Members – Kate Bolz (Vice Chair), Robert Clements, Myron Dorn, Steve Erdman, Robert Hilkemann, Mike McDonnell, Tony Vargas, Anna Wishart

Banking, Commerce, and Insurance

Chair – Matt Williams

Members – Brett Lindstrom (Vice Chair), Tim Gragert, Sara Howard, Mark Kolterman, Andrew La Grone, John S. McCollister, Dan Quick

Business and Labor

Chair – Matt Hansen

Members – Ben Hansen (Vice Chair), Ernie Chambers, Sue Crawford, Steve Halloran, Steve Lathrop, Julie Slama


Chair – Mike Groene

Members – Lynne Walz (Vice Chair), Tom Brewer, Rick Kolowski, Lou Ann Linehan, Adam Morfeld, Dave Murman, Patty Pansing Brooks

General Affairs

Chair – Tom Briese

Members – John S. Lowe, Sr. (Vice Chair), John Arch, Carol Blood, Tom Brandt, Megan Hunt, Mike Moser, Justin Wayne

Government, Military, and Veterans Affairs

Chair – Tom Brewer

Members – Andrew La Grone (Vice Chair), Carol Blood, Matt Hansen, Mike Hilgers, Megan Hunt, Rick Kolowski, John S. Lowe, Sr.

Health and Human Services

Chair – Sara Howard

Members – John Arch (Vice Chair), Machaela Cavanaugh, Ben Hansen, Dave Murman, Lynne Walz, Matt Williams


Chair – Steve Lathrop

Members – Patty Pansing Brooks (Vice Chair), Tom Brandt, Ernie Chambers, Wendy DeBoer, Adam Morfeld, Julie Slama, Justin Wayne

Natural Resources

Chair – Dan Hughes

Members – Bruce Bostelman (Vice Chair), Joni Albrecht, Suzanne Geist, Tim Gragert, Steve Halloran, Mike Moser, Dan Quick

Nebraska Retirement Systems

Chair – Mark Kolterman

Members – Brett Lindstrom (Vice Chair), Kate Bolz, Mike Groene, Rick Kolowski, John P. Stinner


Chair – Lou Ann Linehan

Members – Curt Friesen (Vice Chair), Tom Briese, Sue Crawford, Mike Groene, Mark Kolterman, Brett Lindstrom, John S. McCollister

Transportation and Telecommunications

Chair – Curt Friesen

Members – Suzanne Geist (Vice Chair), Joni Albrecht, Bruce Bostelman, Machaela Cavanaugh, Wendy DeBoer, Mike Hilgers, Dan Hughes

Urban Affairs

Chair – Justin Wayne

Members – Megan Hunt (Vice Chair), John Arch, Tom Briese, Sue Crawford, Matt Hansen, John S. Lowe, Sr.

View the Legislature’s committee page.